An Online Advertising Pricing Models
Today’s digital advertising is filled with many different pricing options. Just a few decades ago, there only used to be two options: CPC (cost per click) and CPM (cost per 1000 impressions). Now there are dozens. Indentify which of the many different digital advertising pricing models makes the most sense for your business
Some of them are explained below:
What is
CPM?
Cost Per Mille. Usually refiects the
price of 1000 banner impressions in dollar currency. The CPM model refers to
advertising bought on the basis of impression. Payment depends on the
number of impressions solely. For example, a banner is being shown 100,000
times at CPM of $0.5, means that the payment by theadvertiser to the publisher
would be 100,000 * 0.5 / 1000 = $50.
Advantages
-
The advertiser knows exactly how many times the banner will be shown, and what
would be his daily / total costs.
-
Common model when buying media against a specific URL / site / ad spot.
-
CPM is being prioritized first by ad-networks since the publisher knows exactly
what the expected revenue per impression is.
Disadvantages
-
Very weak performance matrix, very weak correlation with sales or leads.
- No
indications for the advertiser on banner, campaign or media quality.
-
When dealing with multiple sites or ad spots advertiser might receive cheap
media instead of effective media.
-
Effective frequency capping is unknown.
What is CPC?
Cost Per Click. Known also as
pay-per-click (PPC) from the publisher's point of view. In this model the
advertiser pays for each click made on a banner impression. Payment depends on
the number of clicks solely. For example, a banner is being shown 200,000
times, and being clicked 1000 times at a cost of $0.08 per click. The Click through rate -
CTR in
this case is 1000/200,000 = 0.5%. The cost to the advertiser would be $0.08 *
1000 = $80. Since the advertiser paid $80 for 200,000 we say that his E_ective CPM (or
eCPM) is 80/200 = $0.4.
Advantages
- The advertiser
knows exactly how many times his landing page / site will be clicked, and what
would be his daily / total costs.
- The banner will
be shown until enough clicks are being generated
- Common model
when looking for exposure with no direct lead or sale goals
- CPC is optimized
quiet fast by optimizing ad-networks to generate high CTR
- Reasonable
indicator for banner quality
Disadvantages
- Weak correlation
with Sales or Leads
- Dependable on
click tracking technology and measurement
- Weak performance
matrix, vulnerable to click frauds
- No indication
for campaign quality (only banner quality)
- Advertiser might
receive cheap media instead of effective media
- Effective
frequency capping is unknown
What is CPL
CPA CPS?
Cost Per Lead / Cost
Per Acquisition / Cost Per Sale. In this model the advertiser pays explicitly
per transaction type made by the buyer that resulted from a click on a banner
impression. Payment depends either on the cost of lead, cost of sale or a percentage
of the sale's revenue. For example, a banner is being shown 200,000 times, and
being clicked 1000 times. 10 clicks converted to a lead where the advertiser
pays 5$ per lead. The total advertising cost would be 10*5 = 50$.
Advantages
- The advertiser
pays according to results only.
- The banner will
be shown for unlimited period of time.
- Preferred model for
the advertiser. Zero risk on his side.
- Low
vulnerability to frauds.
- High correlation
between sales and campaign and banner quality.
Disadvantages
- Publisher will
not allocate premium media for questionable profit
- Publisher will
refuse to work in this model when cpm / cpc models can fill his inventory
- Dependable on
conversion tracking technology and measurement.
- Hard for the
publisher to estimate when to stop a campaign
The number of
different pricing models will only continue to increase in the future, with
platforms and media competing for share of advertising budget. As the number of
options grow, it is important for advertisers to understand the trade-offs
between pricing models in order to pick the combination most suitable
for their campaign goals and resource availability.
Thanks for sharing this informative post. Now days, I am collecting information related to SEO and PPC Management because my business is new and it needs to be promoted in the market and since online marketing is so much in trend, it is essential to know about all these terms.
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